December 18, 2014
DONATE

D.A.R.E. America Scientific Advisory Board

The D.A.R.E. America Scientific Advisory Board consists of leading national researchers and scientists from the fields of drug education, prevention, child development, medicine, mental health and treatment.

The esteemed voluntary members advise D.A.R.E. America as it strives to maintain excellence in programs, research and prevention trends and insure the successful implementation of effective prevention education to millions of children worldwide.

D.A.R.E. America Scientific Advisory Board Members:

Herbert D. Kleber, MD
Professor of Psychiatry
Columbia University/NYSPI
1051 Riverside Dr, Unit 66
New York, NY 10032
Phone: (212) 543-5570
Fax: (212) 543-6018
HDK3@columbia.edu

Mark S. Gold, MD
Distinguished Professor
University of Florida Brain Institute Departments of Psychiatry, Neuroscience and Anesthesiology
P.O. Box 100183
Gainesville, Florida 32611
(for Fedex: 100 Newell Drive, Room L4171, Gainesville,Fl, 32611)
Phone: (352) 392-0140
Fax: (352) 392-8217
msgold@ufl.edu

Sue Rusche
President and CEO
National Families in Action
PO Box 133136
Atlanta, Georgia 30333-3136
Phone: (404) 248-9676
srusche@nationalfamilies.org

Chris Ringwalt, DrPH
Chapel Hill Center
Pacific Institute for Research and Evaluation
1516 E. Franklin St., Suite 200
Chapel Hill, NC 27514-2812
Phone: (919) 265-2613
Fax: (919) 265-2659
ringwalt@pire.org

Richard R. Clayton, Ph.D.
Center for Prevention Research
121 Washington Avenue, Suite 110B
Lexington, KY 40356
Phone: (859) 218-2037
Fax: (859) 257-5592
cell: (859) 229-8087
clayton@uky.edu

Kris Bosworth, Ph.D.
Smith Endowed Chair in Substance Abuse Education
University of Arizona
College of Education
P.O. Box 210069
Tucson, AZ 85721-0069
Phone: (520) 626-4350
Fax: (520) 626-6005
boswortk@u.arizona.edu

David R. Gastfriend MD
Vice President, Scientific Communications
Alkermes,Inc.
852 Winter Street
Waltham, Mass., 02451-1420
Phone: (781) 609-6911
Cell: (617) 283-6495
david.gastfriend@alkermes.com

Jean Lud Cadet, M.D.
Chief, Molecular Neuropsychiatry Branch
National Institute on Drug Abuse
5500 Nathan Shock Drive
Baltimore, Maryland 21224
Phone: (410) 550-2732
Fax: (410) 550-2745
jcadet@intra.nida.nih.gov

Carol J. Boyd, MSN, PhD
Deborah J. Oakley Collegiate Professor
Research Professor, Substance Abuse Research Center
University of Michigan
1136 Lane Hall
204 S. State Street
Ann Arbor, MI 48109-1290
Phone: (734) 764-9537
Fax: (734) 764-9533
caroboyd@umich.edu
(Copy assistant Nicole Perry at msnicole@umich.edu)

Zili Sloboda, Sc.D.
Director of Research & Development
JBS International, Inc.
5515 Security Lane, Suite 800
North Bethesda, MD 20853-5007
Phone: (240) 645-4390
Fax: (301) 587-4352
zsloboda@jbsinternational.com

Dennis M. Gorman, PhD
Professor and Department Head
Department of Epidemiology and Biostatistics
School of Rural Public Health
Texas A & M Health Science Center
TAMU 1266
College Station, Texas 77845-1266
Phone: (979) 458 2036
Gorman@srph.tamhsc.edu

D.A.R.E. America Board of Directors Liaison

Sheila Kar, MD
Clinical Chief, Division of Cardiology
Cedars-Sinai Medical Center
Asst. Clinical Professor of Medicine, UCLA
150 N. Robertson Blvd., Suite 115
Beverly Hills, CA 90211
Phone: (310) 657-8500
Fax: (310) 659-9198
skarmd@aol.com/sheila.kar@cshs.org